Article on Kinect Studio

My latest article on MSDN Magazine online is now available: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/jj650892.aspx . Make sure to check it out. There are video clips on this one demonstrating how to use Kinect Studio, starring my daughters Kenzy and Sherrie.

If you are developing anything with Kinect and don’t know about Kinect Studio, please do yourself a huge favor and check out this article. The Kinect Studio enables you to test your applications without having to stand up and dance around every fifteen minutes! Plus, it let’s you explore the data that the Kinect is capturing to get a much fuller understanding which in turn opens the creative part of the mind to see other possible uses.

So, take a look! And let me know what you think!

Ninja

About lelandholmquest

After serving in the Navy as a Reactor Operator on fast attack submarines, I earned both a Bachelor's and Masters in Information Technology from American InterContinental University and am currently working on my doctorate. I have a beautiful wife and two of the sweetest daughters a man could ask for. And I work for the greatest company: Microsoft. At Microsoft I work on the knowledge management system for Microsoft Services: Campus on Office 365.
This entry was posted in Kinect and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Article on Kinect Studio

  1. Gan Tian says:

    Hi, I have read your article and watch the demo video. I have a question in terms of using Kinect Studio.

    In the video, you run the program (in Debug model) in Visual Stuido, and using the Kinect Studio to connect this running program. However, I have tried both Start Debugging (F5) and Start without Debugging (Ctrl+F5) in the MS Visual Studio 2010 to run the program. The Kinect Studio cannot find the app/sensor pair in these two situation. Only when I run the app.exe in the bin file directly, can the Kinect Studio find the Kinect-enabled app. Therefore I cannot debug on the injected data.

    I am currently using the Kinect for Windows SDK v1.6 and Kinect Studio 1.6. I have tried uninstall them and use the v1.5, the problems are still there.

    So I want to ask do you have any ideas about this problem? Thank you very much!

    Best regards,
    Gan Tian

  2. Gan Tian says:

    Oh now the problem is solved by running both Visual Studio and Kinect Studio “As Administrator”. Thanks all the same.

  3. Thanks Gan Tian for sharing! I have not run into this issue, so I appreciate you sharing it with us.

Leave a Reply

