Paranorman

Warning: I am going to write about the movie Paranorman and I am going to give some details. If you intend to see this movie (without the benefit of this complaint) you may want to skip this posting.But if you are planning to take young kids to this movie, you would be wise to read this posting.

Paranorman is rated PG. My wife and I are pretty conservative when it comes to what the kids watch. We don’t let them watch teenage kind of shows, etc. We believe that kids see a little too much too early. We don’t want to be overprotective, but we feel that exposing them to things like sex at the ages of 7 & 8 is wrong. They aren’t ready for that, in our opinion.

Well, we took them to this PG rated movie and were stunned by some of the things in it. First, it used language that we don’t want our kids using (yet – those who know me well, know that I can talk like a sailor at times. But my kids have never witnessed that. I am disciplined and do not expose them to it.) But it was occasional and “light” (e.g. what the hell is that?). So, though it made Gigi and me clutch the chair when it came out of the blue, we didn’t make a big deal out of it and just continued on.

Then, there is a scene when the lead characters are trapped in a library. The bad kid asked why they got trapped in a library with stupid books when just down the road there is an “adult video store” that they could’ve gotten stuck in. Now how is the subject of adult video stores appropriate in a PG movie? And why did they feel it necessary to put it in?! Fortunately, our kids didn’t really get it and didn’t ask about it. I am really offended by this and find it reprehensible that this is considered acceptable. I could just see my little Sherrie turning to me and asking “Daddy, what’s so good about an adult video store?”

Then the climax. There was a character that was like 17 years old boy that was built like a jock. He was portrayed as kind of dumb, not picking up on the continually sexually suggestive talk of the teen female counter part (which also made us uncomfortable). But at the end of the film, he drops the bomb. He comes out and says that his BOYFRIEND might enjoy going to a movie with him and her. That was the straw that broke the camel’s back. This movie went way out of its way to expose kids to things that there is simply no reason to! And it’s not like it was a point of any significance with respect to the story.

I think that as a parent, I should have the right to protect my children from exposure to this sort of thing. When the time comes that we feel our kids are mature enough to understand and appreciate it, we’ll discuss with them the facts of life. And when they are ready, we will discuss homosexuality. And NO PG rated movie should push that agenda and supplant my parental guardianship and values. I think this was shameless and really has me angry. It highlights what, in our opinion, is a critical problem in American society today. There is no concept of shame. Mind you, this is not a tirade against homosexuality. I am just as offended by the adult video line. It is the lack of shame of exposing kids to things that should remain in the realm of adult or at least teen age level. I am really angry over this. It is taking away our rights, no, our DUTY as parent’s to protect our kids from concepts that they are not yet mature enough to handle. Then people wonder why we have the moral decay that we have and the rampant teen, out of wedlock pregnancies that we do! Well, there are folks that are allowed to push their sick agendas into the mainstream into PG rated movies leading kids down bad roads that they are not prepared for. This is really heinous in my opinion.

What are your thoughts on the matter?

About lelandholmquest

After serving in the Navy as a Reactor Operator on fast attack submarines, I earned both a Bachelor's and Masters in Information Technology from American InterContinental University and am currently working on my doctorate. I have a beautiful wife and two of the sweetest daughters a man could ask for. And I work for the greatest company: Microsoft. At Microsoft I work on the knowledge management system for Microsoft Services: Campus on Office 365.
This entry was posted in Social commentary and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

