Hindsight is 20/20

A few years’ experience will convince us that those things which at the time they happened we regarded as our greatest misfortunes have proved our greatest blessings.
George Mason

 

I find this quote to be right on. There are many times in my life that I thought this event is nothing short of catastrophic and would be the end of me. Only to find, years later, that the situation had to occur and just the way that it did in order for everything else to come to be. Without those “catastrophic” incidents, I wouldn’t be here today writing this blog. I would not have my wife and children. God only knows where I would be or even if I would be at all. For so many reasons, I don’t know how anyone can truly believe there is no God. I see and feel His involvement most everyday. And I am very thankful for it.

I enjoy very much having conversations about religion, beliefs in a higher being and other such topics. I can think of nothing more important to spend a little of each day on. I do not like to ARGUE over it though. I believe that everyone is accountable to his/her Creator and that everyone has a unique relationship with their Creator. What is right and understandable to me may be complete gibberish to you. And that’s ok.

Feel free to express yourself here and engage in meaningful exchanges of ideas, thoughts and experience.

Ciao,

Leland AngelDevil

About lelandholmquest

After serving in the Navy as a Reactor Operator on fast attack submarines, I earned both a Bachelor's and Masters in Information Technology from American InterContinental University and am currently working on my doctorate. I have a beautiful wife and two of the sweetest daughters a man could ask for. And I work for the greatest company: Microsoft. At Microsoft I work on the knowledge management system for Microsoft Services: Campus on Office 365.
This entry was posted in Quotes of significance, Religion/ Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hindsight is 20/20

  1. Steve Hose says:

    Leland,

    What a pleasant surprise to find a fellow believer. I, too, put faith as the most important aspect of my life.

    I do want to point out, however, that while you have the introspective and retrospective views that cause you to come to great conclusions the maxim itself isn’t true. Hindsight is rarely 20/20. Even when we realize that God’s providence and favor has lead us we still tremble in the face of change as though we don’t remember His hand on our lives. To live a life abandoned to the idea that though God isn’t safe but He is always good is to live with clear vision to our past. I don’t have 20/20 or my faith would be richer.

    Thanks for sharing! My two cents worth is on sale so it’s worth less than that but hopefully you still understand what I mean.

Leave a Reply

