Remote Desktop Connection to Hyper-V Virtual Machine

Ok. This one seemed like it should be pretty simple. But I couldn’t find a description of it anywhere online. And I am not the only person who couldn’t figure this out. But I finally figured it out, and it was simple.

Here’s what I have and what I needed: My host machine is Windows 8. I am using Hyper-V (built into Windows 8 – if you are a developer and aren’t using Windows 8, you are missing the boat!) to run a virtual machine (doing some SharePoint development). I frequently need to pass big files back and forth between the host and the virtual. I could never figure out how to do it. I always ended up either emailing the files to myself (because the virtual can see out to the Internet) or storing them up on SkyDrive.

But the other day I had a new need that led me to find the solution. I wanted to use Remote Desktop Connection to connect to the virtual machine. In order to find Remote Desktop Connection in Windows 8, while on the start screen, type ‘mstms’. That will bring up the Remote Desktop Connection (RDC). To make the connection, I would type in the machine name of my virtual. But, after a couple of minutes, it would time out and say that the machine could not be found. I figured that this was a networking issue that I didn’t understand. Well, I found the fix.

On the virtual machine, click on configure remote desktop:

image

and allow connections to the machine. When you do this, you will be prompted to allow the firewall to be changed to permit these connections. Allow it.

Then I realized that by default the type of network is Public. Switch it to Home and enable Sharing. With all that done, you can now use RDC on the host machine to connect into the virtual machine simply by providing the machine name. 

I have an external hard drive connected directly to my router. Now, in the virtual machine, I can explore the network, find the router and connect to the external hard drive. I then created a mapped network drive to it. So I can freely and easily pass files back and forth between by host and virtual. All very easy to do. Just had to get pointed in the right direction.

Hope this helps others!

About lelandholmquest

After serving in the Navy as a Reactor Operator on fast attack submarines, I earned both a Bachelor's and Masters in Information Technology from American InterContinental University and am currently working on my doctorate. I have a beautiful wife and two of the sweetest daughters a man could ask for. And I work for the greatest company: Microsoft. At Microsoft I am an Information Technology architecture and Planning (ITAP) Advisor. I am a Myers-Briggs ENFP.
This entry was posted in General IT, Microsoft and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Remote Desktop Connection to Hyper-V Virtual Machine

  1. Nuno V. says:

    You know, Leland, seeing through any one of these posts of yours is much more valuable than themselves, and it makes one wonder whether the Leland H. as a person is just a much valuable. Like, as a person, do you do anything like you do this as a professional? Have you ever written a short story? Does that valuable mind of yours focus just on the technologies you work with? Could we see anything like this, but with other kinds of things? (Just rhetorical questions.) What a nice professional (more as a working mind than just as a “technological practicioner”).

  2. Pingback: Remote Desktop with Windows 8 Hyper-V | Mike's Ravings

  3. As far as I know, RDC tool is used to access computers on same network. What tools do you use for accessing computers over different networks? I mean to say do you use logmein, RHUB, Bomgar etc. or something else?

  4. Yaman says:

    Thanks, that helped, I like the background picture, your daughters are cute :)

  5. Leon Darnius says:

    mstsc is the command to access RDP, not “mstms”.

  6. rosdi says:

    Thanks a lot!.. This gives me the clue how to RDP to my VM. Previously I RDP to host and then connect to the guest via hyper-v manager.. but it is slower and does not allow copy pasting etc.

Leave a Reply

